Recommending Books Based On How Emotional They Made Me

Hey, fellow ramblers! I did a recommendation post a few months back where I recommended books on their sass levels! Since you guys loved that one so much, I decided to make another one along the same lines! Who knows, maybe this will turn into a series?

I am naturally drawn to books that can break my heart and I take full accountability for that. Although, I will not apologise for the screaming and sobbing that follows me finishing the book. And as always, feel free to leave any recommendations you have so that I may shatter my heart into further pieces.

Last time, I had a sass-o-meter which I used to measure the level of sass from one to ten. It’s going to be the same this time around too, but with an emo-meter. So without further ado, let’s get started!

(Also note, that almost every book I read makes me emotional in one way or the other, so picking the books for this list was particularly hard.)

THE SKY BLUES BY ROBBIE COUCH

emo-meter rating: 5/10

This book didn’t make me emotional because it was sad, but because it was so powerful. I think I’ve talked about this in one of my posts before but there is this one scene where the characters carry out an act of protest and the way it was executed was just so well done, that I couldn’t help but tear up.

THE CHARM OFFENSIVE BY ALLISON COCHRUN

emo-meter rating: 6/10

This entire book was just wholesomeness in the form of two cinnamon rolls. Most of the tears that were triggered here were because of how incredibly cute the main characters are. If you haven’t read this yet…please fix that. As soon as possible. *whispers* it’s a romance between a Bachelor contestant and the show producer.

FIFTEEN HUNDRED MILES FROM THE SUN BY JONNY GARZA VILLA

emo-meter rating: 6/10

I will not shut up about this book for as long as my heart is beating. There was this one scene (which I can’t disclose because of spoilers hehe) that had me sobbing. I don’t know if it was because I related to it on a very deep level or just because I loved the book so much — it’s probably both.

IF THIS GETS OUT BY SOPHIE GONZALES AND CALE DIETRICH

emo-meter rating: 7/10

Ah, another book to add to the list of books I will never stop talking about. If This Gets Out is out in around two weeks and I’m going to get everyone I know to read it. In this case, it’s the last scene that really got me with the emotion. It was a very meaningful and symbolistic scene that lives in my head rent-free.

FULL FLIGHT BY ASHLEY SCHUMACHER

emo-meter rating: 7/10

This is another upcoming release, and while it might not be for everyone, Full Flight made me feel things. It went in a direction I did not expect it to go in, but I’m not complaining. Bring on the pain hehe.

THE DARKNESS OUTSIDE US BY ELIOT SCHREFER

emo-meter rating: 7.5/10

I’m going to be honest, I was very confused with what was happening in this book at first. It does take a while to understand but once I got the hang of the plot, I found myself loving everything about the story. The plot twists were mainly what made me cry, and the ending worked out perfectly, which I really appreciated.

THE ONES WE WERE MEANT TO FIND BY JOAN HE

emo-meter rating: 8/10

I think it’s safe to say that I’m never getting over the events of this book. I already said this in my review, but I was staring at the ceiling for what felt like whatever trying to comprehend what in the world had just happened. The setting of this book is also really intriguing — in the future when climate change problems have taken over the world.

THE ‘AN EMBER IN THE ASHES’ QUARTET BY SABAA TAHIR

emo-meter rating: 9/10

Sabaa Tahir is absolutely ruthless when it comes to writing and I love that so much. Not the part where it makes me sob, of course. I’m obviously recommending the whole series but the fourth book (see picture) was probably the most heartbreaking. I miss everyone so much.

THE GILDED WOLVES TRILOGY BY ROSHANI CHOKSHI

emo-meter rating: 10/10

It was not physically possible for me to make a list like this and not include this trilogy in it. I don’t even have words to describe what these books did to me. I love that the cast of characters is so diverse, the found family trope is everything! And who doesn’t love a heist, am I right?

THE ‘THESE VIOLENT DELIGHTS’ DUOLOGY BY CHLOE GONG

emo-meter rating: 11/10

Yes, as you can see above, this duology did indeed break the emo-meter. And it is not without reason. I finished the second book at 11 PM and wet my pillow with tears. IT WAS PAIN. PURE HEARTBREAK. I wish I could scream about it but spoilers :’) BUT YOU ALL READ IT OKAY. AND COME SCREAM WITH ME.

I also want to include an additional part to this post: BOOKS ON MY TBR THAT I’M SURE WILL MAKE ME SOB

(this is solely based off things I’ve heard about the books)

And that’s all for today! I took the longest time to draft this post, mostly because I was busy with school, but I’m glad I could finally finish it! What did you think? Have you read any of the books mentioned above? Let me know in the comments!

Pinterest | Goodreads | Twitter | StoryGraph | Readerly

25 thoughts on “Recommending Books Based On How Emotional They Made Me

  1. I haven’t read any of these books, but I HAVE read we are okay and you’ve reached sam.
    I didn’t really like we are okay or rather, I had no clue what was going on and I just didn’t understand the story🌻
    You’ve reached sam is a good book! The mc is highly unlikeable but other than that, it did make me cry.😄

    Like

  2. Ahh The Ones We’re Meant to Find was so melancholic and moving, and it took SO long to process what was happening for me too haha! And argh we don’t talk about A Sky Beyond the Storm, it’s been a year and I can still get emotional simply hearing its name! Thanks for the recommendations, I’ll definitely have to press on with The Gilded Wolves series, can’t wait to sob my eyes out haha! <33

    Like

  3. *Whitney Houston in the background* 🎶 I GET SO EMOTIONAL BAAABY 🎶

    The Darkness Outside Us is SO FREAKING GOOD but also you haven’t read You’ve Reached Sam yet?!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment